January in Review

January in text with snowman peeking over lettersThis year has gotten of to a rather slow reading start. I was bound and determined to finish reading  Midnight’s Children before I read anything else.  I’d been picking it up intermittently pretty much all of 2012, but just couldn’t finish it. I also kinda forgot that I’d committed to reading a Japanese translated book in January. I rushed out and bought a copy of Banana Yoshimoto’s Asleep.

I’ve yet to finish a book in February, but I’m about halfway done with The Island at the Center of the World, about Manhattan back when it was a Dutch colony. After that, we’ll see!

Here’s the January breakdown:
7 books total
6 fiction                    86%
1 nonfiction            14%
5 female authors  71%
1 translated            14%

How is your 2013 reading going?