October Readathon

End of Event Survey

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Well, I fell asleep at about 10pm EST, so…
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I didn’t have any ready this year, but I do like to read graphic novels during a readathon. The “Aya” series by Marguerite Abouet are a good go-to.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next season? Nope! I was a pretty casual participant this year, and I can’t think of anything I could add to the pros that put it together.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
  5. How many books did you read? No entire books, but I finished one and made progress with three others.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? I finished “Ready Play One” on audio, started the audio of “The Maze Runner,” got over halfway through the ebook edition of “This is Where it Ends” and made progress with “Eileen” by Ottessa Moshfegh.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? “Eileen” is definitely the book that’s most “me.” I get most of my audiobooks and ebooks from the library, and a lot of the time they aren’t my first choice, but I read what’s available. That means that often I’m not in love with the books I get.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? Probably “This is Where it Ends.” The depressing subject matter and jumping perspectives mean it’s not my favorite. Although I do often read pretty dark books. I don’t know. It’s just not really working for me. Though I will say it’s a pretty quick read.
  9. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I’m sure I will participate again, probably as a reader and cheerleader. I did some cheering this time, but I didn’t sign up for it in an official capacity.


1pm Update:
Still listening to Ready Player One. I’m on Chapter 37 of 39, so I should have my first book completed soon. I am going to be taking a bit of a break to go for a walk with a friend soon, so we’ll see. I’ve also been doing a little bit of cheerleading, mostly on twitter.

Starting! Well, actually, I was already reading before 8am, as I had “Ready Player One” playing on my phone. I was supposed to be in yoga at 8:30, but it was cancelled. So I went to breakfast, where I downloaded “This is Where it Ends” by Marieke Nijkamp. It’s available from my library as the current Big Library Read. Now, I’m back home, putting up this blog post and listening to Ready Player One.

Introductory Questionnaire

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? East Coast of Florida
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? I’d like to finish “The Professor and the Madman.”
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? I’ll probably be breaking into some Halloween candy. Oh well!
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! Lawyer, feminist, rescue-dog mama.
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? I’ve participated once before. I don’t know that I’ll do much different today. Read, listen, do some mini challenges. Breaks as necessary.

Thoughts? Let's talk!

