Month in Review: September

So, it’s been awhile since I last posted a Month in Review. I like these check ins, to see how much I’m reading, and to keep an eye on some categories I care about. This year I’ve been terrible about reading books in translation. September was no exception. Out of the 13 books I read, all were originally written in English.

September actually got me blogging again, so that’s certainly something. It was Aarti’s Diversiverse event that did it. And I’m glad. Not only did I manage to post about three books, I also visited the blogs of other people enthusiastic about reading widely. The book blogging community is really great, and this event was the perfect way to plunge back in.

What’s next for October? I’m committing to reading something translated. I’ve got Hella Haasse’s The Black Lake, originally written in Dutch. I’ve been meaning to get to that one for awhile, so this might be the month. I’ve also been wanting to read a Murakami for way too long.

Do you have any favorite translated books to recommend? I love seeing what other people read.

diversiverse
September in Review

Total books: 13
10 Fiction:                    77%
3 Non-fiction:              23%
10 Women Authors:   77%
0 Translated:                0%

Oh, and I know Gone Girl is now a movie. No, I won’t be seeing it. I absolutely hated the book, and can’t believe the movie would be any better.

6 thoughts on “Month in Review: September

  1. I like monthly check-ins too, though I rarely do them. Instead of reading Gone Girl, I read the summary on Wikipedia. For some reason, I already knew much of the plot and wasn’t surprised by what I read. I hope you have a fantastic reading month!

  2. Cool that Diversiverse got you back into blogging. I don’t read much in translation, and I should, so I’m looking forward to what you come up with.

  3. I’m having a hard time finding a fantastic fiction read. I think I’ll take a look at your archive. I do best when I see what others are reading and loving.

    readerbuzz.blogspot.com

Thoughts? Let's talk!

