The Miseducation of Cameron Post

Book Cover: The Miseducation of Emily PostThe Miseduation of Cameron Post
Emily M. Danforth

This is the third book I’ve read recently featuring girls sent away to camps designed to solve their troubles (the other two being Maya’s Notebook and The Girls of No Return). This time, the camp in question is meant to de-gay the youth attending. News flash: not all that effective! Um, at all!

There was a lot I liked about this book. The focus on a girl growing up and coming to terms with her sexuality was well done. I felt tranported back to high school when all your emotions are bubbling up and you can’t think straight. I also liked that the book recognized that there is a difference between gender identity and sexuality and that these categories don’t necessarily exist as binary.

My main complaint about this book was that it was just too darn long. It felt like the author should have chosen to either focus on before the camp, or the camp itself. And the camp itself was mainly horrifying, so I think less focus on that would have been better. Reading about the camp kept me in a state of heightened awareness and sensitivity.

~~~~~~

Orange Juice and Ginger Ale

My new favorite drink

Towards the beginning of the book, there’s a scene that mentions Cameron drinking orange juice and ginger ale. I’m a big fan or mixing club soda and juice, but had never thought of using ginger ale. I like ginger ale, I like orange juice. I figured I’d try it.

OMG IT IS SO GOOD.

I filled my glass about three quartes up with ice, then Vernor’s Ginger Ale about halfway up, then topped it with Tropicana Grovestand OJ. Grovestand = lots of pulp.

Side note: Tropicana recently went back to all Florida oranges, so I bought it. I’ve been drinking Florida’s Natural pretty much exclusively for the past couple of years. I’m a Florida girl, and I try to keep it local. There are some other small groves near me that produce their own stuff, but I have to buy it at the farmer’s market, and it’s not always available. Natalie’s Orchid Island Juice is also super local, but they use a type of orange that’s sweeter. I like my OJ to have a little sourness to it, but if that’s not youthing, I encourage you to try Natalie’s.

Have you had this delicious concoction? What other Juice + Fizzy drink combos do I need to try? Let me know!

Weekend CookingWeekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. If your post is even vaguely foodie, feel free to grab the button and link up anytime over the weekend. Hosted by Beth Fish Reads.

11 thoughts on “The Miseducation of Cameron Post

  1. I usually fizz up my juice with selzer water, but Fresca and cranberry juice is quite nice. I’ll have to try ginger ale and OJ. Thanks!

  2. Yeah, that camp sounds horrid. Vernors! I can’t get it where I live but it’s the only gingerale I drank as a kid in Ohio. In fact, it’s the only soda I like. Next time I’m visiting my parents, I’m going for this combo.

Thoughts? Let's talk!

