Classics Spin, Take 3

The Classics ClubThe first time I participated in the Classics Club Spin, I read Orlando, right on time, wrote my review, and loved it. The second time…not so much. I thought about making myself finish The Golden Bowl and calling it my book for Spin #3, but I thought that would be unfair. So I’m going to spin again, AND I’m going to finish that darn Henry James. So there!

I’m slightly tweaking my list from Spin #2 to come up with the following:

1. Metamorphoses
2. The Color Purple
3. Song of Solomon
4. Wuthering Heights
5. Silent Spring
6. The Iliad
7. Up From Slavery
8. Southern Horrors: Lynch Law in All Its Phases
9. An American Tragedy
10. The Souls of Black Folk
11. Memories of My Melancholy Whores
12. Belinda
13. Pale Fire
14. The Garden of Eden
15. Uncle Tom’s Cabin
16. The Master and Margarita
17. Cranford
18. Beloved
19. The Scarlet Pimpernel
20. Palace of Desire

Here’s my entire list, with links to my reviews so far. I’ve read 18 books, which puts me on track for my 50 in 5 years. I wasn’t quite as ambitious as some people!

Are you a Classics Club member? If so, how are you coming along with your list? If you’re not, it’s not too late to join!

11 thoughts on “Classics Spin, Take 3

  1. Wuthering Heights is on Little M’s spin list too – not mine though because I’ve recently read it. The Color Purple’s on our original list, and for me it would be a reread. I really enjoyed Alice Walker when I was a mature teen/young adult. Meridian was my favourite back then.

  2. There a few on there that sound a bit daunting 🙂 I loved The Colour Purple, also Cranford, I much preferred Song of Solomon to Beloved and read Uncle Tom’s Cabin such a long time ago I can’t remember it. Good luck with your spin.

  3. I saw your tweet, and don’t worry, Wuthering Heights is a good book, not about love though; it’s more about hatred and revenge. Too passionate 😉
    Hope you enjoy it.
    For me this is my second spin and the first (One hundred years of solitude) was not a good experience… but well, it’s impossible to like everything!

Thoughts? Let's talk!

