You’re the One that I Want/June in Review

Olivia Newton John as Sandy in Grease

Oh yeah, très sexy

I’m participating in the Summer Lovin’ Readathon this week, and today we’re to share some favorite summer reads.

In my review of August Heat, which I read in June, I pointed out that it would make a good summer read. It certainly mentions it being hot enough!

Typically “summer reads” seem to be lighter, less serious books. Like you can’t read something heavy when you’re on the beach. But plenty of people enjoy ice cream when it’s hot outside, which is pretty heavy for my tastes. Why not heavier books? I know for some people summer is a good time to read that 800 page chunkster, because they actually have time to be absorbed into it.

Looking back at the books I read in June, they don’t seem to be different than those I read in any other month.

I think N.K. Jemisin’s The Killing Moon would be a good summer book. It’s the first in her fantasy Dreamblood series, and if you like it the second one is already published. My library has them both, and I plan on picking up #2 later this week when I stop in. The book draws on elements of ancient Egyptian culture, but is in a world completely its own.

What else did I read in June? Well, TEN others, for a total of twelve books! I’m finally “on track” with my 100 book goal for the year. Now I have to focus on not falling behind, and this readathon is sure to help give me an edge. Happy Reading!

Total books: 12
10 Fiction:                  83%
2 Non-fiction:           17%
9 Women Authors:   75%
1 Translated:              8%

3 thoughts on “You’re the One that I Want/June in Review

Thoughts? Let's talk!

