Sunday Salon: Hello from New York!

I spent a lovely Saturday wandering around the city yesterday. I wanted to quickly share a few photos with you.

Here’s a poem by Rick Bartow, displayed next to some of his visual artwork. This was at the National Museum of the American Indian. I had never been to this museum, and would definitely recommend it.

Image

It was difficult to walk around this beautiful, converted US Customs House building that pay homage to cultures we (in large part) destroyed. Especially the week the Supreme Court essentially took another Indian child away from her father in the Baby Veronica case. Still, I thought the curators did a nice job paying homage to the past wile incorporating contemporary Native culture.

I also visited the main branch of the New York Public Library. Here’s a display for #nyplreads, where people can share what they are reading this summer. After reading Taiye Selasi’s short Story, “The Sex Lives of African Girls,” I want to join Bridget from Chelsea in reading Ghana Must Go.

Image

Here’s a shot of one of the mail hallways on the first floor. This building is really just gorgeous.

New York Public Library hallway

There was a special exhibit on “The ABC of it: Why Children’s Books Matter”

The ABC of it Unfortunately, I didn’t have time to check out the whole thing, but it looked really interesting.  I love children’s books and would have loved to been able to see how many of my favorites were included in the display.

I really wish my nephews lived closer, as I’d love to take them to our local library and read with them, showing them books I read when I was younger and discovering new ones together.

I thought this giant open book concept was a really cool was to display some of the information. I was captivated by it, and I can just imagine what it must have felt like to look at it from a little kid’s perspective!

giant open book display

Today I’m off to celebrate Pride! So excited to be a part of this historic event – and Edie Windsor is going to be one of the Grand Marshals!

The Sunday Salon

One thought on “Sunday Salon: Hello from New York!

Thoughts? Let's talk!

