Cover Spying

Place Jemaa el-Fnaa at night

Morocco!

As I mentioned in my May in Review post, I recently returned from a trip to Morocco. I’m nosy, so I tried to suss out what some of my fellow travelers were reading.

On the plane to Madrid, where connected to Marrakech, I saw one passenger with George R.R. Martin’s Clash of Kings. There were a few other people I saw with books, but I couldn’t easily spot the titles. Of course, I was reading The Narrative of Sojourner Truth on my nook, so I suppose I was thwarting other people’s cover spying plans, myself!

On the little puddle jumper plane to Marrakech the only cover I could 100% identify was Infidel by Aayn Hirsi Ali. I borrowed this from a friend in law school and flew through it. If you haven’t read it, do. It’s really, really good.

While in Morocco we took a bus to Essaouira, a town on the Atlantic coast. On the bus there was a man reading a German picture book to his son, and a guy in his late thirties reading The Rum Diary by Hunter S. Thompson. Side note – I just finished watching the season 3 finale of Game of Thrones and apparently some scenes were filmed in the town. Neat!

On the return plane ride to Madrid, there was a pretty high concentration of readers. There was an English girl in a horse print skirt reading Agatha Christie’s Sad Cypress, a high school age boy with Auschwitz: A New History by Laurence Rees (I’m guessing a school assignment), a thirty something woman with Dan Brown’s Inferno, and a thirty something man with Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s 100 Years of Solitude.

On the final leg of the journey, back to the US, there were people reading on the plane but I couldn’t catch any titles. There were some serious looking nonfiction books, though. I was rereading Tamora Pierce’s First Test and trying to ward off an anxiety attack. I’m not the world’s best flyer, and it was quite the ordeal getting to the airport on time. I just wanted to focus on an easy comfort read that would help me take my mind off my immediate surroundings. It certainly helped.

So I can’t be the only one who has to investigate the reading habits of those around me – right? 

2 thoughts on “Cover Spying

  1. You aren’t the only one. I always try to sneak peeks at the covers of books that I see other people reading. I can’t help it!

Thoughts? Let's talk!

