DNF: Call the Midwife

Call the Midwife midwife
Jennifer Worth
Audio book narrated by Nicola Barber

I first heard about this book a year or more ago, and was immediately interested. Young women in London in the 1950s pursuing a medical career? What’s not to love?

Ok, here’s the thing. I could not finish this book, or really read much of it at all. It boils down to me feeling lightheaded when listening to the description of a woman going into labor.

There’s a reason that I didn’t go to medical school, as fascinating as the field is. There’s a reason (well, many reasons) I don’t want kids. Apparently I forgot about those things as I was swept up in the idea of this book.

Maybe if I’d tried the print version I’d have had more success. I’d be able to skim over the more swoon-inducing portions. But since I was listening to the audio version, and since I usually do that in my car, I figured it was safer for everyone if I called this one quits.

Bottom line: not for me, but may work much better for those with a stronger constitution 🙂

P.S. I’ll be out of town for the next week or so. Catch everyone when I return!

3 thoughts on “DNF: Call the Midwife

  1. Note: Reading books like this in print does not make it any easier. Haha!

    I am the SAME WAY. I found myself inadvertently reading quite a few books last year that went into detail about childbirth, and I had to keep lying down or putting my head between my knees. It was awful. I didn’t DNF any of them, but I should have. I don’t do well with the detailed medical stuff, either. You are not alone.

  2. Ha ha, this made me laugh. I’m not laughing at your poor constitution…well maybe I am, a little? I’ve given birth 3 times. I’m going to guess you don’t want to hear the details? 😉

Thoughts? Let's talk!

