Out

outOut
Natsuo Kirino

My first 1 star read of the year!

I’m all for stretching my reading horizons, which is why I decided to read Out for Curiosity Killed the Bookworm’s Made in Japan event. Our lovely host features a fair amount of crime fiction on her blog, so I thought I’d give it a shot. Out  apparently also won “Japan’s Top Mystery Award,” according to its cover.

I don’t really get the mystery here – it reads more like a straightforward crime novel to me. The characters might be confused about who is after them, but the reader never is.

If this book is any indication, crime novels are not my thing. Especially creepy gory graphic rapist crime novels. Thanks but no thanks.

I kept reading because I hoped it would get better, and because I could, for awhile, justify that Mr. Sadistic’s snuff fantasies were recognized to be NOT OKAY. And then the end came. And then I just wanted to throw the book across the room. But I didn’t, because I don’t generally throw books, no matter how bad they are. (I did throw a Philippa Gregory book once, but I made sure it landed in the laundry hamper, amply cushioned by my dirty socks.)

6 thoughts on “Out

  1. I imagine you might like Roberto Bolaño’s The Skating Rink much better. While he plays with the expectations and formulas of detective/crime fiction, he undermines them in creative and challenging ways–making for a much more interesting book. This one particularly, as we have clear expectations about who the murderer is, but there is much suspense about who will be murdered. Also, justice and causation do not exactly match–in a way that I think you would find particularly intriguing.

  2. Pingback: GWC Reviews through August 3, 2013 « GLOBAL WOMEN OF COLOR

  3. Pingback: Global Women of Color Reviews 2013 Final List « GLOBAL WOMEN OF COLOR

  4. Pingback: Global Women of Color Final List of Reviews for 2014 | Me, you, and books

  5. Pingback: 2013 GWC Reviews Arranged by Region « GLOBAL WOMEN OF COLOR 2014

Thoughts? Let's talk!

