Oh, do I have a blog?

Headshot of author Tamora Pierce

Tamora Pierce

I really can’t call myself much of a blogger if I don’t, well, blog. I can’t believe it’s nearly the end of January and I haven’t yet even done a 2012 wrap up. So here’s a quick break down:

Total books read: 92, just short of my goal of 100. I found myself really wanting to push to 100 towards the end, but I had to remind myself not to rush through books to meet some arbitrary number.

I read some really good books in 2012. Maybe I was just more relaxed about it, but I rated 14 books 5 stars, compared with only 9 in 2011.

Some favorites? Remains of the DayTheir Eyes Were Watching God (a reread), Are you My Mother?, Ceremony, The Hanging of Angelique.

I was most disappointed by my translated books read. Scanning my list, I only see 8. Eight! In 2011 I read 21 translated works. This is an area I want to work on for 2013. Speaking of, I think I’m supposed to read something Japanese this month…

67 of the books I read were written or edited by women. A big part of that was probably my gorging on Tamora Pierce (I read eleven of her books!). I’m a bit sad that I didn’t discover her until I was an adult. Her books have great themes for girls as they grow up. If I had a daughter, I’d be encouraging her to read these books.

And with that quick update, I’m off to read! I’m juggling a couple inter-related nonfiction books at the moment, The Island at the Center of the World by Russell Shorto and Longitude by Dava Sobel.

One thought on “Oh, do I have a blog?

  1. The Remains of the Day. Oh that book. Oh Kazuo Ishiguro. I cannot think about his books without getting all emotional and weird. But oh.

    I’m so happy that was on your list.

Thoughts? Let's talk!

