Sunday Salon: What to read next?

Good say, fellow Saloners.

I’ve managed to slog through the last couple stories in My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me. I’ve been reading it this past week, and while some of the stories are good, a lot of them are NOT. Fortunately, the last story was pretty good, so I didn’t finish it and then hurl it across the room 🙂

The other book I read this week was The Road, and I’m wondering why I let it sit on my self so long before I got to it. Yes, it slogged at times, but it was so well written that I didn’t mind.

I’m trying to decide what to read next. I still have my half-read copy of Midnight’s Children laying around somewhere. I also need to read more for my classics challenges. I think I need something quick and simple, though. I put a library hold request on Divergent, but the wait time is 17 days. grrrr.

There are a couple books making eyes at me: Tender at the Bone, Ruth Reichl’s memoir, and Remains of the Day. Have you read either? Any thoughts?

Just because I’m curious: How do you choose what to read next? Do you have a method, a list from which to choose, or you just pick what suits your mood?

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: What to read next?

  1. I selected Reichl's memoir from a list of humorous books. I didn't think it was laugh out loud funny – I thought some of Reichl’s disguises and the personalities she took on were a little sad – but it was certainly an entertaining page-turner. I will be curious to read your thoughts if you decide to read it.

  2. Choosing which book I read next is the hardest decision I regularly make. Haha! I don't have a method–I just look through my list and pick one (this usually takes me a good half-hour, at least).

  3. No way!!! I literally am publishing a "how do you choose what to read" blog post today! I wrote it the other day and it's sitting in my "scheduled" area, ready to go in a few hours! (LoveAtFirstBook .com)I usually pick a book that speaks to me! I don't have any other method besides that since I want to enjoy my read!Also, "The Road" was fabulous! I wasn't sure if I would like it, but I read it so quickly, and it was one of those books that, once I was finished, I hadn't read so that I could have the opportunity of a first read all over again.

  4. Remains of the Day is good! Ishiguro is a wonderful author. Never Let Me Go is killer too. I pick what suits my mood at that very moment and that's how I decide what to read next. A book has to call to you!

Thoughts? Let's talk!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s