The Classics Club: September Meme

September’s task, courtesy of The Classics Club, is to “pick a classic someone else in the club has read from our big review list. Link to their review and offer a quote from their post describing their reaction to the book. What about their post makes you excited to read that classic in particular?”

I need all the excitement I can get as I gear up to read Rebecca. Jillian’s review provided that spark:

In those last eighty or so pages I felt the dark curl of London shadowing the pages, the rain of a 1930s night beating the panes of the glass in sheets. The sense of doom that one cannot help but feel watching Maxim — well, I can’t say what he is doing without ruining it for others!

I’m so afraid this book will be tedious, but Jillian’s over-the-top-enthusiasm reminds me not to take this – or any other venerable “classic” – quite so seriously.

4 thoughts on “The Classics Club: September Meme

  1. @Jillian: Thanks! I'me looking forward to it a lot more now.@jackiemania: I am going to try to read it in October, actually! Should be fun and creepy 🙂

Thoughts? Let's talk!

