Lookalike Covers

I know that avisannschild over at She Reads and Reads has a similar covers feature. I never realized that the same stock photos were used for different book covers. Of course, after discovering this, I stumbled across my own example. I was on Goodreads trying to find my edition of The Optimist’s Daughter when I saw this cover:
I immediately recognized it as the same picture used on the cover of The Well and the Mine, Gin Phillips’ debut novel, which I read several years ago. Here it is:

Same photo, same overall color scheme. I have to say, it fits much better with the story in The Well and the Mine. The main character in The Optimist’s Daughter does have flashbacks to her childhood and visiting family in Appalachia, but that’s not really the focus of the book.

Have you noticed this similar cover thing? I know my eyes are going to be peeled for them in the future.

One thought on “Lookalike Covers

Thoughts? Let's talk!

